HVACWARE.COM

Forums > Topics > Reply

viceman1959@yahoo.com

1 post(s)
posted on 10/18/2007

I have a very old home (1846 Cornish Miners Cottage) located in S.W. Wisconsin. I have been repairing and restoring the home for several years and I am now getting ready to up-date the heating system (such as it is.) It is currently heated with a old Heil-Quaker natural gas vented heating stove model: RVFA-708-1 Serial #F13113 BTU/Hr = 22,000 min & 70,000 max. There is no crawl space under the house or way to duct a conventional furnace. The house is aprox. 780 sq ft. and is now moderately insulated. I am considering installation of a modern blue flame gas heater to take it's place but don't know what size (BTU) I will need. I have been looking at 30,000 BTU ventless models but don't know if that will be enough. Any information, thoughts or advise will be appreciated. You can e-mail me directly at...  viceman1959@yahoo.com

Thanks,

Tim

Replies [ post reply ]
brian@pacificgas.ca

31 post(s)
replied on 10/18/2007

G is right do not use a ventless, when putting products of combuction into living space - you should really understand what happens - the tighter the space the worse it is and 800 sq ft is not much space to dump venting into a breathing area and if the unit is not burning properly the CO content will be high - and then there is the moisure problem. Do anything But a ventless only two opinions so far - but let us know - Brian

garrett.garris@pse.com

27 post(s)
replied on 10/18/2007

dont go ventless.. Look for a free standing stove Nothing over 50,000 BTUH

viceman1959@yahoo.com

1 post(s)
replied on 10/19/2007

If not a ventless blue flame heater, what should I use? Where do I get one? What would the cost be?
A couple issues that come in to play are...
1.Money... the gas heaters at 30,000 BTU can be delivered here for about $250.00